WATCH: 2021 NStat Summit: Reimagining Public Safety


This January, more than 300 New Yorkers joined us for our first-ever virtual NStat event, the 2021 NeighborhoodStat Summit: Reimagining Public Safety!

Resident leaders and policymakers came together to discuss how key community priorities in health and well-being, safety and justice, economic stability, physical space, and youth development can influence policy.

We are grateful to the event’s invited speakers, government and community-based partners, and most importantly, to the many residents who continue to invest energy in their communities.

What’s Next?

We are now asking for your continued support in joining a Working Group focused on each of these resident priority areas. From February through May 2021, each Working Group will build a collective Action Agenda for now until 2022, plotting the path for making ideal solutions a reality.

We hope you will join us in achieving our goal of creating safe, thriving, and vibrant communities where resident voice is centered in policy.

NStat Community Video Profiles

Watch videos about community leadership across the network of MAP communities by clicking on the videos below.

Thank you to all of our invited guests and speakers
who made the 2021 NStat Summit possible!

Alaire Chappell
Van Dyke Houses Stakeholder

Alicka Ampry-Samuel
City Council Member for 41st District

Ariel Perry Decamp
Brownsville Youth Representative

Ashanti Butler
Boulevard Houses Stakeholder

Betsy Pearl
Associate Director for Criminal Justice Reform,
Center for American Progress

Cheryl Starks
Wagner Houses Stakeholder

Chief David Barrere
Chief of Housing, NYPD

Danielle Brutus
Associate Director (Brooklyn/Staten Island),
Neighborhood Safety Initiatives,
Center for Court Innovation

Debra-Ellen Glickstein
Executive Director of NYC Kids Rise

Delma Palma
Community Design Architect, NYCHA

Delsenia Glover
Deputy Public Advocate

Domingo Morales
Green City Force Alum & Founder of Compost Power

Elijah Allen-Francis
Brownsville Youth Representative

Eric Cumberbatch
Director of NYC Office of Neighborhood Safety

Eric Murray
Patterson Houses Stakeholder

Greg Russ
Chair, NYCHA

Ifé Charles
Director of People & Culture,
Center for Court Innovation

Jason Hansman
Senior Director, Crisis Response & Community Capacity, Mayor’s Office of Thrive NYC

Jessica Mofield
Executive Director, Office to Prevent Gun Violence

Jin Hee Lee
Senior Deputy Director of Litigation,
NAACP Legal Defense & Educational Fund, Inc.

Jolyn Rattigan
St. Nicholas Houses Stakeholder

Jumaane Williams
NYC Public Advocate

Keonna Bishop
St. Nicholas Youth Representative

Keshawn Bishop
St. Nicholas Youth Representative

Keshawna Bishop
St. Nicholas Youth Representative

Khalil Cumberbatch
Director of Strategic Partnership,
Council on Criminal Justice

Latrell Barton
Boulevard Houses Stakeholder

Layman Lee
Acting Project Director, Neighborhood Safety Initiatives, Center for Court Innovation

Lohoma Shipman
Bushwick Houses Stakeholder
& Resident Association President

Nahisha McCoy
Red Hook Houses Stakeholder

Naudia Williams
Participatory Justice Program Manager, MAP

Niani Taylor
Food Business Pathways Graduate
& Founder of Munch Hours, Inc.

Quardean Lewis-Allen
Founder & CEO of Youth Design Center

Rasmia Kirmani-Frye

Renita Francois
Executive Director, MAP

Shekera Algarin
Deputy Executive Director, MAP

Tamara Greenfield
Deputy Executive Director, MAP

Tara Singh
Director of Programs, MAP

Taslina Daly
Brownsville Youth Representative

Tatyonna Jennings
St. Nicholas Youth Representative

Dr. Torian Easterling
First Deputy Commissioner & Chief Equity Officer,
NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

Vicki Been
Deputy Mayor for Housing
& Economic Development

Your feedback is a critical part of ensuring we are delivering valuable programming to our residents and partners. If you participated in the event and would like to provide feedback, we invite you to complete a survey form.

Complete the survey